Share on:

Southbay Civil Engineering Ltd handed RoSPA Gold Award for health and safety practices for the 3rd year in a row

Southbay Civil Engineering Ltd, has been handed a prestigious award in recognition of its practices and achievements in helping its staff, customers, clients and contractors to get home safely at the end of the working day.

Southbay Civil Engineering Ltd has achieved a Gold in the internationally-renowned RoSPA Health and Safety Awards, the longest-running industry awards scheme in the UK.

Southbay were presented with the award during a ceremony at DoubleTree by Hilton Glasgow Central on Thursday, September 13, 2018.

Southbay Health & Safety Manager, Stuart Heather receiving the RoSPA Gold Award

The RoSPA Awards scheme, which receives entries from organisations around the world, recognises achievement in health and safety management systems, including practices such as leadership and workforce involvement.

Paul Stephenson, Managing Director, said ‘To receive RoSPA Gold status for the third year in a row is extremely satisfying and is testament to all of the hard work that goes into ensuring consistently high standards of health and safety are maintained across the company. Health and safety is at the forefront of all that we do and to receive such recognition reinforces our commitment to all of our stakeholders including our clients. I would like to take this opportunity to congratulate all of our staff for maintaining the safety culture required to achieve such a prestigious award’

Julia Small, RoSPA’s head of qualifications, awards and events, said: “The RoSPA Awards are the most highly-respected in the health and safety arena, with almost 2,000 entrants every year, and allow organisations to prove excellence in the workplace, demonstrating a commitment to the wellbeing of not only employees but all those who interact with it.”

The majority of awards are non-competitive and mark achievement at merit, bronze, silver and gold levels. Gold medals, president’s awards, orders of distinction and the Patron’s Award are presented to organisations sustaining the high standards of the gold level over consecutive years.

Competitive awards go to the best entries in 24 industry sectors including construction, healthcare, transport and logistics, engineering, manufacturing and education.

There are specialist awards for health at work, environmental management and fleet safety, and excellence trophies for the best international, new entry, workforce involvement and organisation operating or based in Scotland. RoSPA’s top accolade is the Sir George Earle Trophy.

Headline sponsor of the RoSPA Awards 2018 is NEBOSH – the National Examination Board in Occupational Safety and Health – for the 13th consecutive year.

For more information about the RoSPA Awards visit

sign up to our newsletter

read more

more posts