Share on:

RoSPA Gold Medal

Southbay Civil Engineering Ltd is celebrating after landing an internationally-recognised award for demonstrating high health and safety standards.

Southbay has received a RoSPA Gold Medal Health and Safety Award for promoting and ensuring a high level of safety in the business. The Gold Medal award is presented to those organisations which have achieved five to nine consecutive Gold Awards.

Organisations receiving a RoSPA Award are recognised as being world-leaders in health and safety practice. Every year, nearly 2,000 entrants vie to achieve the highest possible accolade in what is the UK’s longest-running H&S industry awards.

Paul Stephenson, Managing Director said: “To be awarded the RoSPA Gold for the fifth year in a row and receive the Gold Medal is a magnificent achievement for everyone involved with the company. Health and safety is paramount to effective running of our operations and to receive this prestigious accolade is extremely satisfying. Construction is historically a high-risk sector and we are pleased to meet the high standards RoSPA expect and thereby minimising risk to anybody involved in our business. This award reinforces our commitment to health and safety to our employees, our stakeholders and our clients. I would like to congratulate all of our employees for maintaining a high standard of safety culture and pushing the for ever increasing standards throughout the business.”

Julia Small, RoSPA’s head of qualifications, awards and events, said: “The RoSPA Awards scheme is the longest-running of its kind in the UK, but it receives entries from organisations around the world, making it one of the most sought-after global accolades in health and safety.

“RoSPA wants every employee, wherever they are, to work safe in the knowledge that they will be going home unharmed and healthy at the end of every day. The RoSPA Award winners are vital to help achieve this goal, as by entering they are driving up standards and setting new benchmarks for organisations everywhere. Currently, around 7million people are directly impacted by the RoSPA Awards, but the scheme’s influence is even wider.”

The majority of awards are non-competitive and mark achievement at merit, bronze, silver and gold levels. Gold medals, president’s awards, orders of distinction and the Patron’s Award are presented to organisations sustaining the high standards of the gold level over consecutive years.

Competitive awards go to the best entries in 24 industry sectors including construction, healthcare, transport and logistics, engineering, manufacturing and education.

There are specialist awards for health at work, environmental management, safety delivered outside of the workplace, and fleet safety, and excellence trophies for the best international organisation, new entry, workforce involvement, leisure organisation, and organisation operating or based in Scotland. RoSPA’s top accolade is the Sir George Earle Trophy.

Headline sponsor of the RoSPA Awards 2020 is NEBOSH – the National Examination Board in Occupational Safety and Health – for the 15th consecutive year.

For more information about the RoSPA Awards visit

sign up to our newsletter

read more

more posts